1000 years of living history
The Wenzel Walk is named after Wenceslaus of Bohemia, named the first Duke of Luxembourg by his half brother Charles IV King of Bohemia in 1355. Rated "outstanding cultural itinerary" by the Council of Europe, the walk crosses the famous Bock casemates, connects the upper and lower town and offers amazing views of the fortress ramparts. The two hour tour takes in the "Bock" promontory, the old town, the Wenceslas ring wall, the Alzette valley and Luxembourg’s unique fortifications. It is a fascinating tour that takes in over a thousand years of history and highlights the former strategic importance of the city and the reason it was so heavily fortified and suffered repeated foreign sovereignty.